Thursday, November 15, 2012

Johannes Brahms

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897), German composer and pianist
from the Library of Congress

postmarked in 2008 with 5 three cent 'coffeepot' stamps and one 27 cent 'kiwi' stamp

- - - - - - -

Johannes Brahms (7 May 1833 – 3 April 1897) was a German composer and pianist.

Born in Hamburg, Brahms spent much of his professional life in Vienna, Austria, where he was a leader of the musical scene.

He composed for piano, chamber ensembles, symphony orchestra, and for voice and chorus. A virtuoso pianist, he premiered many of his own works. Today, many of his pieces have become staples of the modern concert repertoire.

Brahms, an uncompromising perfectionist and destroyed many of his works and left some of them unpublished.

No comments:

Post a Comment